Back to Top
Man taking pictures of a damaged car

How Long Does an Insurance Company Have to Investigate a Claim in Texas?

How long does an insurance company have to investigate a claim in Texas?

The last thing you expected when you got up that morning was to be involved in an accident, but that is how it turned out. While your priority for the moment should be in getting well, you should not neglect your just claim for compensation.

You are convinced that you did everything right and the other driver did everything wrong; that the accident owed to carelessness and an unwillingness to follow the rules of the road. The consequence of such irresponsible behavior has been a severe disruption of your life. The medical bills, the lost wages, the physical pain and suffering, the emotional toll it has had on your family—someone should be made to pay for these things and it should not be you.

Insurance companies have 15 days to approve or deny a claim. They may extend that to 45 days if they have sufficient grounds and a sound explanation for doing so. The bottom line here is that you should not allow the insurance company that is liable to pay for the injury and damages you have suffered to drag its feet.

Some insurance companies are straight and transparent in the way they deal with claimants; they make it their purpose to deliver quality service to those who have legitimate claims on their capital. Other insurers are not so keen to do the right thing. Dragging their feet, offering delay after delay is a tactic they employ to wear claimants down. Putting up unnecessary bureaucratic hurdles is another such tactic.

You need not be discouraged or sidetracked by any of these ploys. Austin personal injury lawyers can work with you from the beginning—before you even file your claim—to ensure you are treated with respect and fairness. Briggle & Polan, PLLC are auto accident lawyers who have helped a great many people who have been in your situation get the compensation they are entitled to from the insurance company.

If you have been in an accident, you will need to speak to law enforcement and submit an auto accident report to them. However, you do not have to and you should not speak to an insurance adjuster or any other representative of the liable company without a lawyer present. Insurance companies will go to great lengths to protect their profits, and if they can get a statement out of you, some confession, some words that can be attributed to you—something that you might have said when you weren’t fully aware of what was going on—then they might be able to delay or deny your claim.

Don’t give them the chance to mess about with what is essentially your money. You should force them to speak through your attorney. At Briggle & Polan, PLLC, we have vast experience and in-depth knowledge in dealing with such matters. If you do not understand the paperwork that the insurance company has sent you, do not worry about it. Contact our office and we will help you deal with it.

Categories