What Are the Car Accident Laws in Texas?
Sadly, car accidents are inevitable and, at some point, you will probably be involved in one. If you live in the state of Texas, you will want to know all about regarding car accidents so that you know what to expect. It’s also a good idea to hire skilled auto accident attorneys to represent you if you are involved in an accident.
Report Any Car Accident
Texas is one of the states that require people to file a report about any car accidents within 10 days from the time of the accident. You must file Crash Report, Form CR-2 if there no police officer arrived at the scene of the accident, especially if the accident resulted in injury, property damage amassing more than $1,000 or death. You must ensure that everyone is safe and then exchange information with the other driver, such as personal, vehicle and insurance details. Make sure to also get the names of any witnesses to the accident.
It’s also a good idea to take photos of the road and vehicles and make note of any weather and road conditions.
Car Insurance Laws
Texas is a fault state, which means you can either file a lawsuit against the other driver who is at fault for the accident or file a claim with your car insurance company. Drivers are liable for any and all damages and injuries that they cause in an accident. Liability insurance is a good thing to have as part of your policy to cover you in the event of an accident.
In addition, it’s a good idea to purchase uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage as part of your policy in the event that you are in an accident with a driver who has limited or no car insurance.
If you are in a car accident in Texas, you should immediately see a doctor, even if you feel fine. You should also immediately file a claim with your insurance company. Avoid immediately getting car repairs, however, as your insurance company might want to take a look at the damage to your vehicle first or send you to a specific auto body repair shop to have them done.
Your insurance company has 15 days to either accept or deny your claim. If your claim is denied, the company must explain why, but if the claim is accepted, the insurance company is required to pay you within five days.
Car Accident Settlements
The best thing you can do when filing a claim for personal injury and damages is to have experienced Austin car accident lawyers on your side. It can help when you are looking for a settlement as the amount offered and whether the defense agrees to settle depends on the evidence presented in your case. This is precisely why it’s so important to have a police report, witness statements and other supporting documentation after a car accident.
If you are looking to settle, the insurance company may have you sign a release that states that you won’t file additional claims regarding the same accident. It’s important not to settle when the amount being offered isn’t satisfactory to cover your medical expenses, future treatment, and damages. By law, Texas prohibits an insurance company from postponing the payment of a claim to pressure someone into signing a release.
If you have gotten into a car accident in Texas and need legal assistance, contact Briggle & Polan, PLLC at your earliest convenience. We will provide auto accidents victims with a FREE consultation, and guarantee no fees unless they win your case