Texas is a wonderful place to celebrate the Fourth of July! With its wide-open spaces and beautiful sunsets, there's no better place to enjoy some fireworks.
However, before you go out and purchase some sparklers, it's important to know about Texas' firework laws.
In this blog post, we'll discuss the various laws that apply to average consumers in the state of Texas. So, whether you're planning on setting off a few bottle rockets or launching a barrage of mortars, make sure you read this post first!
Fireworks Laws in Texas
In Texas, it is against the law to sell, possess, or use fireworks that fly more than 20 feet into the air or explode. This includes:
- Roman candles, and
- Bottle rockets.
Possessing these types of fireworks is a Class C misdemeanor, which can result in a fine of up to $500. Additionally, setting off these types of fireworks is a Class B misdemeanor, which can result in a fine of up to $2,000 and/or up to 180 days in jail.
However, there are still plenty of ways to enjoy fireworks in Texas! The state does allow "ground-based or handheld" fireworks, such as:
- Snakes, and
- Glow worms.
These types of fireworks are completely legal to use, possess, and sell. So, if you're looking to celebrate with some fireworks this Fourth of July, make sure you stay within the law!
We hope this blog post has helped clear up any confusion you may have about firework laws in Texas. Remember, if you have any questions, you can always consult your local fire marshal. Have a safe and happy Fourth of July!
We’re Here to Help
If you’ve been hurt as a result of a fireworks-related accident, you may be entitled to compensation for your losses. Our team is here to help. Don’t delay—reach out to our office right away with any questions you may have.
Call our firm today at (512) 400-3278 or fill out the online contact form to learn more about your legal options.