What is the statute of limitations for a car accident in Texas?
A statute of limitations rule applies to almost any type of lawsuit or legal issue. Basically, a statute of limitation is a rule that means you must seek legal redress within a certain time frame or you lose your right to file. It doesn’t matter how clear cut your case is or how much proof you have to back it up. The same applies to the state of Texas and auto accidents.
A number of people in the state of Texas have specific questions regarding car accidents and how long they have to file a claim. All states are different. You should never just assume that because one state may have a statute of 5 years it is the same in your state. If you have any questions regarding the state of Texas and statute of limitations, you should seek out the help of an auto accident lawyer as soon as possible.
Remember, if you are in a car accident in Texas and you have been injured due to someone else’s negligence, you only have a certain window of time to file a claim. Under the Texas Civil Practice and Remedies Code, you have only 2 years to file a claim. Once this time period has passed, your case can no longer be heard. If you need more information, call the professionals at Briggle & Polan, PLLC.
Some people believe the Texas statute may be a bit harsh. However, statute of limitation laws are put in place for a reason. These rules, which have been in place for hundreds of years, encourages people to get their case in and out of court in a reasonable amount of time. There is also the issue of preservation of evidence and witness recollection. For example, if the accident took place 10 years ago, memories can be faulty. This is something that a judge and jury will take into account.
Claimants should understand that the case is not required to be heard within that 2 year period. Only that you should file the case within that period of time. For example, if the accident occurred on July 5, 2014, you will have to file by July 5, 2016. This statute not only applies to physical injuries but to property damage as well. If you live in the Austin area, there are a number of Austin car accident attorneys you can speak with.
This is the main reason why car accidents require immediate attention. The clock begins ticking immediately after the accident happens. If you are in the state of Texas and need a personal injury attorney, you should find one as soon as possible to protect your rights.